UPDATED

Two days before Leaders’ Debate

Greenpeace Canada to hold larger-than-life 

street art murals in Montreal and Vancouver

 to push for climate action

October 5th, 2019 (CANADA) – Following the massive climate marches that occurred last Friday, September 27th, across Canada, and exactly two days before the Leaders’ Debate scheduled on October 7th, Greenpeace Canada volunteers and allies are organizing two street art mural actions in Montreal and Vancouver this coming Saturday, October 5th* to push political leaders to increase their climate ambition and act on the growing climate crisis. 

Two weeks before the ballots are cast, the artistic events aim to showcase yet again civil society’s message reminding politicians to take more ambitious measures to respond to the growing climate crisis. These participatory events will see hundreds of people collectively paint the murals.

In Vancouver, the mural will be painted at the TransMountain pipeline terminus in Burnaby.

The design for the Montreal mural was created with Indigenous local artist Meky Ottawa, member of the Atikamekw Nation. And in Vancouver, with  Ocean Hyland, member of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation in British Columbia,  and Brandon Gabriel, member of the  Kwantlen First Nation in British Columbia .

DETAILS

When: Saturday, October 5th, 2019 (*the date is subject to change depending on weather)

What: Street Art Murals for Climate Action

Where: Montreal and Vancouver

MONTREAL (QC)

Belvédère Kondiaronk, Mont-Royal.

13:30 EST

10:30 PST 

BURNABY (BC)

TRANSMOUNTAIN PIPELINE TERMINUS 

Westridge Marine Terminal in Burnaby, BC. 

16:00  EST

13:00  PST

-END-

For more information, please contact:

Loujain Kurdi, Communications Officer, Greenpeace Canada, 

514-577-6657, lokurdi@greenpeace.org